Longest-Serving Manchester United Manager Of All Time

Longest-Serving Manchester United Managers Of All Time

Longest-serving Manchester United managers of all-time? Which Manchester United managers have lasted the longest? Manchester United football managers? Matt Busby? David Moyes? Jose Mourinho? Who are the longest-lasting Manchester United managers?

Here, we look at the longest-serving Manchester United managers of all-time. We will look through the history of Manchester United managers to find out who was the best.

When you think of long-serving Manchester United football managers, you automatically think of Sir Alex Ferguson. Well, that is because he is among the top 10 longest-serving managers in the history of European football. No one has managed a club longer or more successfully in the Premier League than the Scotsman. The only person who gave him some competition in longevity was Arsene Wenger with Arsenal.

Being a manager is tough these days. The managerial turn-over is very high. It is not uncommon to see a manager get sacked after just a few bad results.

But back in the old days, Sir Alex Ferguson made himself absolutely indispensable up until the very day he chose to retire. You might find a second manager like him which is why it would be wise to manage your expectations. Managers such as David Moyes and
Louis van Gaal was sacked after a very short period wheres Ferguson was given a considerable bit of time to prove his worth early on. Now, he is one of the best coaches to have ever graced this beautiful game!

Manchester United Managers List

Manchester United Current Manager

Manchester United Football Club is a football club based in Old Trafford, Greater Manchester, England. The club was found in Newton Heath in 1878, initially known as Newton Heath LYR F.C. They played their first competitive match in October 1886 in the first round of the 1886/87 FA Cup. The club was renamed Manchester United in 1902 and moved to Old Trafford in 1910.

Manchester United have so far employed 22 full-time managers. Their current manager is Ole Gunnar Solskjær, who took over from Jose Mourinho in December 2018 as caretaker manager, before being appointed permanently in March 2019.

Name Nationality From To P W D L GF GA Win%
A. H. Albut  England 1892 1900 (n/a) (n/a) (n/a) (n/a) (n/a) (n/a) (n/a)
James West  England 1900 Sep-03 113 46 20 47 159 147 40.7
Ernest Mangnall  England 10-Oct-03 09-Sep-12 373 202 76 95 700 476 54.2
T. J. Wallworth  England 09-Sep-12 20-Oct-12 6 3 2 1 11 7 50
John Bentley  England 28-Oct-12 28-Dec-14 82 36 16 30 127 110 43.9
Jack Robson  England 28-Dec-14 31-Oct-21 139 41 42 56 183 207 29.5
John Chapman  Scotland 31-Oct-21 08-Oct-26 221 86 58 77 287 274 38.9
Lal Hilditchp  England 08-Oct-26 13-Apr-27 33 10 10 13 38 47 30.3
Herbert Bamlett  England 13-Apr-27 09-Nov-31 183 57 42 84 280 374 31.2
Walter Crickmer  England 09-Nov-31 13-Jul-32 43 17 8 18 72 76 39.5
Scott Duncan  Scotland 13-Jul-32 07-Nov-37 235 92 53 90 371 362 39.2
Walter Crickmer  England 09-Nov-37 15-Feb-45 76 30 24 22 131 112 39.5
Matt Busby  Scotland 01-Oct-45 04-Jun-69 1,120 565 263 292 2,286 1,536 50.5
Jimmy Murphy(caretaker)  Wales Feb-58 Jun-58 22 5 7 10 27 42 22.7
Wilf McGuinness  England 04-Jun-69 29-Dec-70 87 32 32 23 127 111 36.8
Matt Busby  Scotland 29-Dec-70 08-Jun-71 21 11 3 7 38 30 52.4
Frank O’Farrell  Ireland 08-Jun-71 19-Dec-72 81 30 24 27 115 111 37
Tommy Docherty  Scotland 22-Dec-72 04-Jul-77 228 107 56 65 333 252 46.9
Dave Sexton  England 14-Jul-77 30-Apr-81 201 81 64 56 290 240 40.3
Ron Atkinson  England 09-Jun-81 06-Nov-86 292 146 79 67 461 266 50
Alex Ferguson  Scotland 06-Nov-86 19-May-13 1,500 895 338 267 2,769 1,365 59.7
David Moyes  Scotland 01-Jul-13 22-Apr-14 51 27 9 15 86 54 52.9
Ryan Giggs (caretaker)  Wales 22-Apr-14 11-May-14 4 2 1 1 8 3 50
Louis van Gaal  Netherlands 16-Jul-14 23-May-16 103 54 25 24 158 98 52.4
José Mourinho  Portugal 27-May-16 18-Dec-18 144 84 32 28 244 121 58.3
Ole Gunnar Solskjær  Norway 19-Dec-18 Present 30 17 4 9 51 35 56.7

Manchester United Managers With Trophies

Name Nationality From To Win% Honours
Ernest Mangnall  England 10-Oct-03 09-Sep-12 54.16 2 First Division titles
1 FA Cup
2 Charity Shields
Scott Duncan  Scotland 13-Jul-32 07-Nov-37 39.15 1 Second Division title
Matt Busby  Scotland 01-Oct-45 04-Jun-69 50.45 5 First Division titles
2 FA Cups
5 Charity Shields (inc. 2 shared)
1 European Cup
Jimmy Murphy(caretaker)  Wales Feb-58 Jun-58 22.73
Wilf McGuinness  England 04-Jun-69 29-Dec-70 36.78
Matt Busby  Scotland 29-Dec-70 08-Jun-71 52.38
Frank O’Farrell  Ireland 08-Jun-71 19-Dec-72 37.04
Tommy Docherty  Scotland 22-Dec-72 04-Jul-77 46.93 1 FA Cup
1 Second Division title
Dave Sexton  England 14-Jul-77 30-Apr-81 40.3 1 Charity Shield (shared)
Ron Atkinson  England 09-Jun-81 06-Nov-86 50 2 FA Cups
1 Charity Shield
Alex Ferguson  Scotland 06-Nov-86 19-May-13 59.67 13 Premier League titles
5 FA Cups
4 League Cups
10 Community Shields (inc. 1 shared)
2 UEFA Champions Leagues
1 European Cup Winners’ Cup
1 European Super Cup
1 Intercontinental Cup
1 FIFA Club World Cup
David Moyes  Scotland 01-Jul-13 22-Apr-14 52.94 1 Community Shield
Ryan Giggs (caretaker)  Wales 22-Apr-14 11-May-14 50
Louis van Gaal  Netherlands 16-Jul-14 23-May-16 52.43 1 FA Cup
José Mourinho  Portugal 27-May-16 18-Dec-18 58.33 1 UEFA Europa League
1 League Cup
1 Community Shield

Longest-Serving Manchester United Managers Ever

So, here we will list all Manchester United previous managers. In our Manchester United managers list, we will sort the managers from the longest time at the club down to the shortest.

Obviously, Sir Alex Ferguson is the longest-serving manager at Manchester United but who is second?

Matt Busby

Matt Busby was called upon to manage Manchester United and he oversaw the club through their most trying times in the entire history of the organization. Right before the end of the Second World War, the Red Devils approached Busby for the position after he turned down Liverpool.

Busby wanted more responsibility at Merseyside but his demands were met by the Old Trafford chiefs. He guided the club back to the first division and won their first-ever title in 1952, in five year’s time. He took on the initiative to change the working structure of the club, replacing ageing players with young and hungry prospects, who came to be known as the “Busby Babes”.

That rebuilt side went on to win two more consecutive league titles in 1956 and 1957 along with two FA Cup final appearances. Unfortunately, that was when the Munich disaster occurred which took the lives of so many players and club officials. Busby survived the crash but he was left fighting for his life at the hospital.

While he recovered, Jimmy Murphy served as a caretaker boss. Miraculously, Busby got back on his feet and he immediately thrust himself into the rebuilding process. Within just five years, he delivered the FA Cup in 1963 and then two league titles. The greatest achievement to top it all was the European Cup in 1968. After that season he left the managerial duties to Wilf McGuiness.


See Also:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here