Manchester United Most Attacking Managers

Manchester United most attacking managers? Here we take a look at the most attack-minded Manchester United managers. Which Red Devils managers have created the best attacking style of football? Which Manchester United managers have created the most amount of goals? Well, find out below with our Manchester United most attacking managers.

Manchester United Football Club is a football club based in Old Trafford, Greater Manchester, England. The club was found in Newton Heath in 1878, initially known as Newton Heath LYR F.C. They played their first competitive match in October 1886 in the first round of the 1886/87 FA Cup. The club was renamed Manchester United in 1902 and moved to Old Trafford in 1910.

Manchester United have so far employed 22 full-time managers. Their current manager is Ole Gunnar Solskjær, who took over from Jose Mourinho in December 2018 as caretaker manager, before being appointed permanently in March 2019.

So, which managers at Manchester United have been more attacking? Well, here we will look at the Top six Manchester United most attacking managers.

Manchester United Most Attacking Manager

List Of Manchester United Head Coaches

A. H. Albut England18921900(n/a)(n/a)(n/a)(n/a)(n/a)(n/a)(n/a)
James West England1900Sep-0311346204715914740.7
Ernest Mangnall England10-Oct-0309-Sep-12373202769570047654.2
T. J. Wallworth England09-Sep-1220-Oct-12632111750
John Bentley England28-Oct-1228-Dec-148236163012711043.9
Jack Robson England28-Dec-1431-Oct-2113941425618320729.5
John Chapman Scotland31-Oct-2108-Oct-2622186587728727438.9
Lal Hilditchp England08-Oct-2613-Apr-2733101013384730.3
Herbert Bamlett England13-Apr-2709-Nov-3118357428428037431.2
Walter Crickmer England09-Nov-3113-Jul-324317818727639.5
Scott Duncan Scotland13-Jul-3207-Nov-3723592539037136239.2
Walter Crickmer England09-Nov-3715-Feb-457630242213111239.5
Matt Busby Scotland01-Oct-4504-Jun-691,1205652632922,2861,53650.5
Jimmy Murphy(caretaker) WalesFeb-58Jun-58225710274222.7
Wilf McGuinness England04-Jun-6929-Dec-708732322312711136.8
Matt Busby Scotland29-Dec-7008-Jun-71211137383052.4
Frank O’Farrell Ireland08-Jun-7119-Dec-728130242711511137
Tommy Docherty Scotland22-Dec-7204-Jul-77228107566533325246.9
Dave Sexton England14-Jul-7730-Apr-8120181645629024040.3
Ron Atkinson England09-Jun-8106-Nov-86292146796746126650
Alex Ferguson Scotland06-Nov-8619-May-131,5008953382672,7691,36559.7
David Moyes Scotland01-Jul-1322-Apr-145127915865452.9
Ryan Giggs (caretaker) Wales22-Apr-1411-May-1442118350
Louis van Gaal Netherlands16-Jul-1423-May-161035425241589852.4
José Mourinho Portugal27-May-1618-Dec-1814484322824412158.3
Ole Gunnar Solskjær Norway19-Dec-18Present301749513556.7

Most Attacking Manchester United Managers

Note: P = Games Managed; GF = Goals For; GA = Goals Against; GPG = Goals Per Game
Matt Busby1,1202,2861,5362.041071
Ernest Mangnall3737004761.876676
Alex Ferguson1,5002,7691,3651.846
Walter Crickmer761311121.723684
Ole Gunnar Solskjær3051351.7
José Mourinho1442441211.694444
David Moyes5186541.686275
Walter Crickmer4372761.674419
Ron Atkinson2924612661.578767
Scott Duncan2353713621.578723
John Bentley821271101.54878
Louis van Gaal103158981.533981
Herbert Bamlett1832803741.530055
Tommy Docherty2283332521.460526
Wilf McGuinness871271111.45977
Dave Sexton2012902401.442786
Frank O’Farrell811151111.419753
James West1131591471.40708
Jack Robson1391832071.316547
John Chapman2212872741.298643
Jimmy Murphy(caretaker)2227421.227273
Lal Hilditchp3338471.151515

Top 15 Manchester United Most Successful Managers With The Best Win Percentage

Alex Ferguson06-Nov-8619-May-1359.7
José Mourinho27-May-1618-Dec-1858.3
Ole Gunnar Solskjær19-Dec-18Present56.7
Ernest Mangnall10-Oct-0309-Sep-1254.2
David Moyes01-Jul-1322-Apr-1452.9
Matt Busby29-Dec-7008-Jun-7152.4
Louis van Gaal16-Jul-1423-May-1652.4
Matt Busby01-Oct-4504-Jun-6950.5
T. J. Wallworth09-Sep-1220-Oct-1250
Ron Atkinson09-Jun-8106-Nov-8650
Ryan Giggs (caretaker)22-Apr-1411-May-1450
Tommy Docherty22-Dec-7204-Jul-7746.9
John Bentley28-Oct-1228-Dec-1443.9
James West1900Sep-0340.7
Dave Sexton14-Jul-7730-Apr-8140.3

Manchester United Most Attacking Managers

Sir Alex Ferguson

Top 5 Manchester United Most Attacking Managers

What is the Manchester United way? The very identity that this great football club stands on to this day was brought on by Matt Busby and later, imposed to unprecendted levels by Sir Alex Ferguson.

Soon after finding a remarkable bit of success with Aberdeen, shooting them to the very top of Scottish football and winning the European Cup against the great Real Madrid, the Scotsman signed as manager of United on 6 November 1986.

From that day up until his last day as the club’s head coach, Ferguson operated under the philosophy set out by Sir Matt – playing football the United way. Over the course of the Scotsman’s managerial career at Old Trafford, the Red Devils won several honours, all by following the blueprint of attack, attack, attack.

Sir Alex and United were renowned for scoring late goals and nobody did it better than them. When they dominated, there was no touching them but when the chips were down, they almost always found a way to come back up on top.

Most Offensive Minded Manchester United Managers

Ferguson’s attacking style

It was the very essence so many fans across the world fell in love with this club. I mean, they won trophies through matches they had no right to, coming back from the dead through a relentless attitude and belief that it was all possible.

They win matches they have no right to. They come back from the dead to win trophies, such as the Kevin Keegan “I would love it” Newcastle collapse. In 2011, Sir Alex put out the most bizarre team ever at Old Trafford against Arsenal in the FC Cup, fielding eight defenders and somehow, won the match.

The idea was to fight till the final whistle and the miraculous comebacks were seen best during cup and European must-win matches. As the game goes on, Ferguson used to bring on more and more attacking players while chasing a result.

And the attacks that were formulated were not the most complicated either like Barcelona’s infamous “tiki-taka” method or that of Germany’s seamless passing through the midfield ranks. It was brought on by sheer hard work and attacking in it’s simplest form – win back possession, square the ball off to wingers and drill the ball into the opposition box for the strikers to pounce upon. Crosses after crosses pilled on from both flanks and soon teams eventually collapsed under the constant pressure.

No defender could ever put a pin on it or hold off against a constant battering of crosses. It just wasn’t possible and more so with several United bodies lurking in the United box.

Here is a list of all the trophies Ferguson won with Manchester United –

  • Premier League: 1992–93, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2006–07, 2007–08, 2008–09, 2010–11, 2012–13
  • FA Cup: 1989–90, 1993–94, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2003–04
  • Football League Cup: 1991–92, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10
  • FA Charity/Community Shield: 1990 (shared), 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011
  • UEFA Champions League: 1998–99, 2007–08
  • European Cup Winners’ Cup: 1990–91
  • European Super Cup: 1991
  • Intercontinental Cup: 1999
  • FIFA Club World Cup: 2008

See Also:

  1. Best Manchester United XI Of All Time
  2. Top 10 Manchester United Most Expensive Signings Ever
  3. Manchester United Highest Transfer Fees Paid And Received Ever



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.